Oberst, Connor - Salutations

SKU: 027737
UPC: 0075597940183

New Vinyl Record - Connor Oberst, Salutations

Limited vinyl LP pressing. 2017 release from the Bright Eyes frontman. The album is a companion piece to 2016's lauded Ruminations. When Oberst wrote and recorded the songs on Ruminations, entirely solo-with just voice, piano, guitar and harmonica-he intended to ultimately record them with a full band. In the midst of putting together that band-upstate New York's The Felice Brothers plus the legendary drummer Jim Keltner (Neil Young, Jackson Browne, George Harrison, Bob Dylan, John Lennon, and many more)-the passionate responses Oberst was getting to those first solo recordings, from friends and colleagues, encouraged him to release the songs as-is, in their original sparse form, as his seventh solo album: Ruminations, which was released in October 2016. The Sunday Times of London called it the rawest album yet from the forever troubled one-time voice of a generation and political and very, very personal, saying Oberst is one of the best songwriters around. Meanwhile, Oberst simultaneously moved ahead with his plans to record with the band, heading to the famed Shangri-la Studios in Malibu to record Salutations-co-produced with Keltner and engineered by long-time musical compadre Andy LeMaster. Guest contributions come courtesy of Jim James, Blake Mills, Maria Taylor, M Ward, Gillian Welch, Gus Seyffert, Pearl Charles, Nathaniel Walcott, and Jonathan Wilson. Salutations includes full-band versions of the ten songs from Ruminations, plus seven additional songs, some from an additional session at Five Star Studios in Echo Park in fall 2016.

  • - Side 1 -
  • 1 Too Late to Fixate
  • 2 Gossamer Thin
  • 3 Overdue
  • 4 Afterthought
  • - Side 2 -
  • 1 Next of Kin
  • 2 Napalm
  • 3 Mamah Borthwick (A Sketch)
  • 4 Till St. Dymphna Kicks Us Out
  • - Side 3 -
  • 1 Barbary Coast (Later)
  • 2 Tachycardia
  • 3 Empty Hotel By the Sea
  • 4 Anytime Soon
  • 5 Counting Sheep
  • - Side 4 -
  • 1 Rain Follows the Plow
  • 2 You All Loved Him Once
  • 3 A Little Uncanny
  • 4 Salutations