Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Captain Beefheart - Lick My Decals Off Baby


We have run out of stock for this item.


New Vinyl Record - Captain Beefheart - Lick My Decals Off Baby

Limited vinyl LP reissue. Lick My Decals Off, Baby is the fourth album by Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band, released in 1970 on Frank Zappa's Straight Records label. The follow-up to Trout Mask Replica (1969), it is regarded by some critics and listeners as superior, and was Van Vliet's personal favorite. Don Van Vliet said that the title is an encouragement to "get rid of the labels", and to evaluate things according to their merits rather than according to superficial labels (or "decals"). Most of the songs began as piano improvisations by Van Vliet. He would record extended improvisation sessions on a cassette recorder. Harkleroad then listened to these improvisations, picked out the best parts, and pieced them into compositions. The musical lines on Decals tend to be longer and more intricate than the assemblage of short fragments that characterized much of Trout Mask Replica.

  • - Side 1 -
  • 1 Lick My Decals Off, Baby 2:38
  • 2 Doctor Dark 2:46
  • 3 I Love You, You Big Dummy 2:54
  • 4 Peon 2:24
  • 5 Bellerin' Plain 3:35
  • 6 Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop 2:06
  • 7 Japan in a Dishpan 3:00
  • - Side 2 -
  • 1 I Wanna Find a Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have to Go 1:53
  • 2 Petrified Forest 1:40
  • 3 One Red Rose That I Mean 1:52
  • 4 The Buggy Boogie Woogie 2:19
  • 5 The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or the Big Dig) 2:11
  • 6 Space-Age Couple 2:32
  • 7 The Clouds Are Full of Wine (Not Whiskey or Rye) 2:50
  • 8 Flash Gordon's Ape 4:57
SKU: 041147