Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Wilson, Jackie - So Much


New Vinyl Record - Jackie Wilson, So Much

EU-only 180gm vinyl LP pressing including two bonus tracks and digital download. This quintessential release includes Jackie Wilson's sensational third LP, SO MUCH, originally issued by the Brunswick label in 1959, and long unavailable on vinyl. Produced and arranged by Dick Jacobs, the album contain some of Wilson's greatest studio recordings from the beginning of his career. It was cut to capture some of the memorable performances which had been exciting thousands of patrons of the RB circuit. SO MUCH opens with the rocking title track. The album also contains some outstanding tunes by the tandem of Berry Gordy and Billy Davis (also known as Tyran Carlo), such as 'Thrill of Love', and 'I'll Be Satisfied.' Other standouts include 'Talk That Talk,' and 'The Magic of Love.' Wilson is inspired on just about every track. There is no filler. He trills, he growls, he uses melisma, he skirts to the top of his range with his effortless ease and surprising dramatic effect. His grunts and growls on 'Happiness' embody the title, while 'Doggin' Around,' with it's tinkling piano, heightens the tension. On tracks like 'I Know I'll Always Be in Love with You' (sung in a style similar to Sam Cooke) and 'Never Go Away' his performances are so convincing that Jackie even makes the bombastic production sound cool. Wilson also sings one of his own compositions, 'Wishing Well.' in addition to the original masterpiece, this WaxTime collector's edition contains 2 bonus tracks from the same period: A soulful mid-tempo, 'Years from Now,' and the joyful 'Am I the Man.' One of the pioneers and most important singers in rock and soul music, there's no better proof of Jackie Wilson's talents than these joyful, consistent, stylish and exuberant recordings.

  • - Side 1 -
  • 1 So Much Written-By – D. Burton*, Jackie Wilson, J. Keyes*, J. Dias*, R. Dicks
  • 2 I Know I'll Always Be In Love With You Written-By – Barbara Campbell
  • 3 HappinessWritten-By – Kenny Jacobson, Rhoda Roberts
  • 4 Only You, Only Me Written-By – Benny Davis, Ted Murry
  • 5 The Magic Of Love Written-By – Ben Raleigh, Don Wolf
  • 6 Wishing Well Written-By – Jackie Wilson
  • - Side 2 -
  • 1 Talk That Talk Written-By – Sidney J. Wyche
  • 2 Ask Written-By – D. Serino*, F. Tishman*, W. Rowland*
  • 3 I'll Be Satisfied Written-By – Berry Gordy, Tyran Carlo
  • 4 It's All Part Of Love Written-By – Benny Davis, Ted Murry
  • 5 Never Go Away Written-By – Ben Raleigh, Don Wolf
  • 6 Thrill Of Love Written-By – Berry Gordy, Tyran Carlo

We have run out of stock for this item.

SKU: 025754
Barcode/UPC: 8436542017626