Dirtbombs - Ooey Gooey Chewy

SKU: 013051
UPC: 0759718524819

New Vinyl Record, Sealed - Dirtbombs - Ooey Gooey Chewy

Vinyl LP pressing. 2013 album from the Detroit-based Garage rockers. For about a decade now, Dirtbombs frontman Mick Collins has threatened that the band's next release would be their 'Bubblegum album.' Well, here it is! Mick Collins wrote 10 new tracks which pay homage to the sound and style originally popularized in the late '60s/early '70s by producers like Kasenetz-Katz and Don Kirschner. While the usual Dirtbombs' double-drums, fuzzy guitars and soulful swagger are present, Ooey Gooey is sugary, sunshiny pop rock that recalls Josie & the Pussycats, the Banana Splits and Lancelot Link & the Evolution Revolution, to name but three. It's all sing-along choruses, childlike themes and a contrived innocence - not the kind of record one would've predicted from a guy who once fronted the Gories.

  • 1 Sugar on Top
  • 2 Crazy for You
  • 3 It's Gonna Be Alright
  • 4 Hot Sour Salty Sweet
  • 5 Jump and Shout
  • 6 The Girl on the Carousel
  • 7 Hey! Cookie
  • 8 Sunshine Girl
  • 9 No More Rainy Days/Sun Sound Interlude
  • 10 We Come in the Sunshine