Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute


New Vinyl Record - Doobie Brothers - Minute By Minute

Speakers Corner

How The Doobie Brothers came to form a 'family' is not only a fateful event but also a good story. While getting high on a marihuana joint (or doobie) that was passed from one to the other in a practice room, one of the group apparently uttered the following momentous words: »We are all Doobie brothers«. Later, when in possession of all his faculties, the co-founder of the group, Tom Johnston, was thinking along the lines of a Motown sound, with a bass line resembling that of Seals and Crofts, and vocals in the style of Stevie Wonder. That 'Minute By Minute', the first album to appear in the post-Johnston era, so perfectly reflects the mature style of the group is mostly thanks to the two experienced former Steely Dan musicians Jeff "Skunk" Baxter and singer Michael McDonald.

Subtle, gently electrified groove epitomizes the main focus of this album. It's laid back, colourful and glittering sounds are rounded out with powerful rhythms and warm sounds ('What A Fool Believes'). Solo vocals are layered over rolling chords on the piano, a snappy bass and a multi-voiced background to create an appealing harmony ('Here To Love You'). Perfectly tempered and accomplished solos from the lead guitar and saxophone are welcome extras that never drown out the impressive leader of the group. So much brotherliness on a record certainly deserved to be recognized with three Platinum Records and a Grammy Award. This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. More information under www. Pure-analogue. #com. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid. Recording: 1978 at Warner Bros. -Studios, North Hollywood, by Donn Landee and Loyd Clifft Production: Ted Templeman

  • 1 Here to Love You
  • 2 What a Fool Believes
  • 3 Minute By Minute
  • 4 Dependin' on You
  • 5 Don't Stop to Watch the Wheels
  • 6 Open Your Eyes
  • 7 Sweet Feelin'
  • 8 Steamer Lane Breakdown
  • 9 You Never Change
  • 10 How Do the Fools Survive?

We have run out of stock for this item.

SKU: 050869