Soft Machine, The - The Soft Machine

SKU: 034173
UPC: 0090771403216

We have run out of stock for this item.

New Vinyl Record - The Soft Machine, Self Titled

The Soft Machine, co-produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson, announced the band's arrival on the international scene in fine style. With an unusual three-man lineup comprised of Kevin Ayers on bass and vocals, Robert Wyatt on drums and vocals, and Mike Ratledge on keyboards, the album was recorded in New York, while the band was touring North America with the Jimi Hendrix Experience. In contrast to the extended pieces that would later dominate the Soft Machine's repertoire, the album focuses on shorter, more concise songs that nonetheless provide plenty of room for the musicians to demonstrate their varied abilities. This landmark gem has been out of print for decades, but now it is back in a meticulously packaged Sundazed compact disc edition. Mastered from the original analog tapes, this lovingly restored album sounds as powerful and imaginative as ever.

  • - Side 1 -
  • 1Hope for Happiness 4:20
  • 2Joy of a Toy 2:49
  • 3Hope for Happiness (Reprise) 1:37
  • 4Why Am I So Short? 1:38
  • 5So Boot If at All 7:22
  • 6A Certain Kind 4:10
  • - Side 2 -
  • 1Save Yourself 2:25
  • 2Priscilla 1:05
  • 3Lullabye Letter 4:37
  • 4We Did It Again 3:46
  • 5Plus Belle Qu'une Poubelle 1:01
  • 6Why Are We Sleeping? 5:31
  • 7Box 25/4 Lid 0:47