Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Sufjan Stevens - Carrie & Lowell



New Vinyl Record, Sealed - Sufjan Stevens - Carrie Lowell

Carrie Lowell sounds like memory: it spans decades yet does not trade on pastiche or nostalgia. Stevens's gauzy double-tracked vocals wash across the dashboard of long-finned, drop-top Americana, yet as we race towards the coast we are reminded that sunshine leads to shadow, for this is a landscape of terminal roads, unsteady bridges, traumatic video stores, and unhappy beds that provide the scenery for tales of jackknifed cars, funerals, and forgiveness for the dead. Each track in this collection of eleven songs begins with a fragile melody that gathers steam until it becomes nothing less than a modern hymn. Sufjan recounts the indignities of our world, of technological distraction and sad sex, of an age without neither myths nor miracle - and this time around, his voice carries the burden of wisdom. Carrie Lowell accomplishes the rare thing that any art should achieve, particularly in these noisy and fragmented days: By seeking to understand, Sufjan makes us feel less alone.

  • 1Death with Dignity
  • 2Should Have Known Better
  • 3All of Me Wants All of You
  • 4Drawn to the Blood
  • 5Eugene
  • 6Fourth of July
  • 7The Only Thing
  • 8Carrie Lowell
  • 9John My Beloved
  • 10No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
  • 11Blue Bucket of Gold
SKU: 017754